Mind

Mind

Gender Talk
As a gender studies scholar, I was quite interested in your special issue. I read all the articles with great enthusiasm. I was, however, surprised that you featured only Deborah Tannen’s ideas concerning gendered speech styles (“He Said, She Said”). Because there is so much fascinating research in the area, I was disappointed that she lists her own work exclusively as possible Further Reading. For other work in the field, visit the International Gender and Language Association (IGALA) Web site: www.lancs.ac.uk/fass/organisations/igala/Index.html.

Praise for Moderation
The Truth about Boys and Girls,” by Lise Eliot, is the clearest and most unbiased psych article I have read in a long time. Far too many of these studies have interesting results, but then the authors make unwarranted leaps in the conclusions. I like that this one discussed the many possible causes of what we are seeing.

