Huge post

Huge post

Hurricane Igor may have transitioned into a post-tropical hurricane late yesterday, but when he approached Newfoundland, Canada and merged with an area of low pressure it resulted in heavy rainfall throughout the region. NASA satellites captured Igor’s northern march toward the Labrador Sea yesterday. NASA’s Terra and Aqua satellites captured visible and infrared images of Hurricane Igor yesterday as he brought heavy rainfall into northeastern Canada. A visible image of Hurricane Igor over Newfoundland, Canada was captured by the Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer (MODIS) instrument on NASA’s Terra satellite on Sept. 21 at 14:15 UTC (10:15 a.m. EDT). At that time, Igor had re-strengthened and an eye appeared on the visible imagery.

One and a half hours later, at 1553 UTC (11:53 a.m. EDT), NASA’s Aqua satellite captured an infrared image of Hurricane Igor’s cold thunderstorms that extended from Labrador, Canada eastward over southern Greenland. Igor was moving northward toward into the Labrador Sea toward Labrador and Baffin Island.

Advertisements